Epsilon Sigma Phi
The Extension Professionals' Organization

Augmented Reality, 360 degree Images and Virtual Reality, 3D printing & crowd sourcing in Extension

  • 05/30/2019
  • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
  • Zoom webinar https://zoom.us/j/476324542

Registration is closed

Thursday, May 30, 2019
12:00 pm ET / 11:00 am CT / 10:00 am MT / 9:00 am PT

https://zoom.us/j/476324542

The University of Minnesota Extension has been exploring and using new technologies to engage landowners, land managers, decision makers and master volunteers in invasive species education and management. This presentation will highlight what worked, what didn’t, general potential expenses and examples including specific pros and cons of these technologies.

Learn why 3D printing works really well for new species identification training, how they are made and reviewed, and were they can be purchased. Find out how augmented reality (AR) can be used as a powerful engagement tool that links users to great online education, encourages youth engagement and what skills are required for production. Virtual reality (VR) and 360 images and videos can be produced for free from any smartphone, but the quality and application of those inexpensive technologies may not meet your needs; learn what could.

Explore how crowdsourcing can be a powerful new tool to gather resources to build projects however knowing the pros and cons and considerations that should be used to establish where crowdsourcing may be most effective. We’ve learned while crowd sourcing digital images and as fundraising. These novel outreach and education tools are new and exciting, but the most valuable part of this presentation may be understanding when to try each tool for an intended outcome. Learn from UMN Extension Educators to understand these technology applications and how they could benefit your work.

Instructors from the University of Minnesota Extension

Angela Gupta
Lisa Anderson
Margo Bowerman
Amy Rager
Megan Weber

Link to promotional flyer and agenda

Webinar connection information will be included in your registration confirmation and will be sent again one week prior to webinar.


Epsilon Sigma Phi is a
501(c)3 non-profit organization.


55 Walton Place Drive
Newnan, GA 30263
470-347-0394

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software